getting better!

February 27, 2009 at 6:33 pm Leave a comment


IMG_0288

Originally uploaded by Jurassic2008

This page spread was within an old Hallmark book about nature. We were asked to use the existing artwork when possible. So here I added some glazing to enhance to existing photo, added two pop-up fish, one flat fish, and another one which folds out along the edget. I like the way the pieces I added look like they are part of the part.

I had cut the fish out of a magazine and then added some blue glaze to the white edges. The flip-down fish is attached with a brad and there is a piece of yarn which is the handle.

IMG_0289
For this spread, I had purchased some natural history ephemera from Urban Fauna (San Francisco) and it included this page from an old field guide for liverworts and ferns. I couldn’t decide which side to use so I decided to make it fold out so you could see both sides and it goes along with the existing fern forest images on the right. I also did want to keep the quote on the bottom visible so I made a flap out of the decorative paper I pasted on top. Both the field guide page and the flap have a piece of yarn through a metal eyelet.
IMG_0292
My tag was covered with a napkin I nabbed from my godmother’s house during thanksgiving dinner! I loved the colors and patterns.

Entry filed under: altered book, collage, mixed media collage, paper arts. Tags: , , , , , , , .

sharing craftiness Alphabet Altered Book

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Flickr Photos

news I'm reading

Top Clicks

  • None

