Limits provide opportunity!

February 7, 2009 at 2:21 pm Leave a comment

I’m trying to clean up my piles and piles of scrap paper, old books, glues, paints, ephemera–it’s crazy how much stuff I have!

I’m trying a new thing–using limits and less choice to inspire creativity!  It seems unlikely and antagonistic but for my personality, having too many choices just provides excuses for perfectionism and stagnation.  I am frozen with too many choices.

I’m doing Kelly Kilmer’s prompt a day online class and one the really great insights I’ve gained is how she works–she uses a small selection of images to work from and when she gets tired of those, she moves onto another batch.  That way, you never spend days looking for “the perfect image” and you use what you have.  You can rotate materials but you only work from one subset at a time.  What great insight!  I am going to start trying that as soon as I finish this post.  No more procrastinating!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Collage Project class time!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Flickr Photos

news I'm reading

Top Clicks

  • None

