Mendocino project

December 26, 2008 at 12:01 am 1 comment

Last weekend, to escape the holiday chaos, we went up to Mendocino to the Agate Cove Inn (which was lovely!). Since it was raining, I planned for an indoor cottage weekend and brought three (!) bags of crafting supplies.

I completed one project which I learned at Lisa Sonora Beam‘s “The Daily Observer” workshop–it’s a mini-journal made from greeting cards. I brought the cards I received from colleagues for my 40th birthday last month. I was very proud that I finished something and that I did it within a month of my actual birthday. [Following the photos, I describe what I did.]

40th birthday mini-journal

40th birthday mini-journal

40th minijournal page 2

40th minijournal center

As you can see, it’s very simple. I gathered my cards in a nested fashion and arranged them in a pleasing way. Okay, I’ll admit that it took me an embarrassingly long time and unbelievably numerous combinations to set them in an order I was happy with! Ridiculous but I finally did get an arrangement I love. There was a slight complication in that I had a multi-fold card which I inserted off-center. I then used ribbon yarn I had purchased at Stitches West and just tied the ribbon. Easy!

The next step is to journal on any blank pages within the book and at first I resisted. I was planning on adding tags to write on so that I would be able to keep the “integrity” of the cards but suddenly realized yesterday how silly that was! And so I broke down and wrote a few things directly on the cards and it was liberating! I plan to write a little bit more about the parties at work and then include a photo of that day as well.

I realized that I really didn’t want to throw away the cards for such a big birthday but didn’t want the clutter. Storing a mini-journal is much easier and gives more structure to these mementos. Thanks Lisa for the great idea and inspiration!

For photos, see my Flickr! set of mini-journals.

Entry filed under: altered book, green crafting, paper arts. Tags: .

Merry Christmas! Creativity scrap journal

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Michelle  |  December 26, 2008 at 6:10 pm

    That is so cool! You’re going to have to show me how you did that, it’s great. I’m so proud of you for working past some of the personal roadblocks, too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Flickr Photos

news I'm reading

Top Clicks

  • None

