Creativity scrap journal

December 26, 2008 at 3:04 pm Leave a comment

I’m catching up on updating this blog with my projects so it’s not quite in chronological order. Considering I’m a geologist, it bothers me a little bit but then again, the rock record does get scrambled and topsy turvy too!

This was a journal I made at The Daily Observer workshop with Lisa Sonora Beam. I’ve since written a few more entries and added some embellishments into the journal but haven’t messed around with the order, size or anything. It shows that sometimes I can do things quickly and the result is already perfect! I like the color, sizes, textures and variety. It does inspire me to do more!

The method is similar to the birthday card book from the previous entry–find wonderful papers, fold in half, and tie a ribbon around the center. I have an envelope at the back for any loose items I might want to incorporate into the journal. I also included a tag which says “Touch” into the center of the journal because I was trying to incorporate the dual meaning of the word: touch as a sense (referring to the different textures of the book) and touch as a verb (referring to emotional impact). I love the ribbon because it has such a rich feel to it. All of the materials were from the big (and I mean big!) pile at the center of Lisa’s table. Creating something from nothing is the theme of the workshop and the journal and for a green crafter like me, that theme is truly meaningful.
Daily Observer journal page 2
Daily Observer journal inside
Daily Observer journal center
Daily Observer journal almost end

For photos, see my Flickr! set of mini-journals.

Entry filed under: collage, green crafting, mixed media collage, paper arts. Tags: .

Mendocino project fourth photo of the fourth folder

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Flickr Photos

news I'm reading

Top Clicks

  • None

