Party-time altered book swap

September 14, 2008 at 9:20 pm Leave a comment

My altered book swap group has started up again for the Fall!  Diane is still our leader but we’re now meeting in Berkeley at Scrapbook Territory (which is terrific because today I picked up a yummy watermelon agua fresca at Tacubaya) .  For today’s workshop, we shared our summer creative activities and I showed them the Gridlocked piece I had done at the ZNE Convenzione last month.

I forgot to take photos in advance and besides, I didn’t actually finish any pages (insert sad face here!!).  I spent most of my time for the book covering it in this beautiful golden paper I bought at Papyrus months ago.  It’s thicker than normal paper so it’s quite sturdy and looks very elegant.  The theme is “It’s a party” and I intend for people to use a variety of styles to celebrate celebrations!  Instead of sign-in tags, I used a small blank book and labeled it as “Guestbook” for people to sign in.  The altered book instructions were written into a card labeled, “You are cordially invited…”  I hope people have fun with it.

The project we did together was a shadow box.  The techniques included ColorMist spraying of the frame, using Adirondack inks with alcohol, and then using archival stamp pads and stamps to remove the inks.  We put cloth butterlies into the shadowbox.  The four turned out quite well!  I really liked one of the four which was done in yellows, browns, and gold.   I realize that even though I like blues and greens best, maybe to make things I can actually hang up and look cohesive I should think about using more neutral colors?  Just a thought.

The book that I have to work in now is “Kissing.”  it should be cute and fun!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

glow in the dark yarn?? Members Projects

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Flickr Photos

news I'm reading

Top Clicks

  • None

