sunday market shawl completed!

September 7, 2008 at 12:14 pm Leave a comment


sunday market shawl completed!

Originally uploaded by Jurassic2008

I finished this last night. This was my third or fourth try because I loved the way this sunday market shawl looked. Twice I used other yarns (Malabrigo and Caron’s Super Saver) and they didn’t seem to work out. So I invested in the yarn that was designated in the original pattern (Noro Cash Iroha). In the first try, I knitted it way too loose and it had no structure whatsoever. This was the second Noro try and it turned out great.

The final measurements of the shawl was 20″ by 54.” I probably would have liked it to be a little longer personally but it was exactly 2 skeins. I cast on 26 which was 24 stitches plus two for the edging. I didn’t count the number of rows but it was 198 yards of yarn. Before I ripped out the dropped stitches, it was 16″ by 50″ so the stretching wasn’t so much. I also didn’t really block it because I’m lazy and I don’t think it really needs it. It is not very curly and the length is just about right.
sunday market shawl

I’m very happy with the way it looks but I have to say that this yarn is a bit scratchy on the back of my neck. I have another two skeins that I purchased to make another sunday market shawl which I think I will still do. This shawl didn’t take much time and it was a nice way to alternate between another project which was done on smaller needles and needed me to count stitches. This stockinette pattern was a no-brainer project which looks terrific! And I liked ripping out the dropped stitch at the end to see the great final look.
sunday market shawl completed!
I do recommend this pattern and it’s free!  It’s a very satisfying knit.  But if anyone knows of a better yarn to use, I’d love to hear about it.

Entry filed under: fiber arts, knit. Tags: , , , .

scarf and shawl lessons glow in the dark yarn??

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Flickr Photos

news I'm reading

Top Clicks

  • None

