scarf and shawl lessons

September 1, 2008 at 5:58 pm 2 comments


wavy scarf with two repeats

Originally uploaded by Jurassic2008

I’ve been doing a lot of knitting lately and here is my favorite work in progress. The Malabrigo yarn is just so very soft and the difference is noticeable! It will make a wonderful scarf. As for the scarf pattern, it’s from knitty.com and it looks harder than it really is. In fact, it’s simply done with purl and knits.

I do like to learn with every project and what I’m learning and practicing here is a bit of patience and working with a pattern and stitch counter. You can see the stitch counter on the circular needles. I’ve already mixed up about four rows (you can see two at the bottom which are “off” and there are another two up top which i skipped) but so far, I’ve really enjoyed it.

My other active project is almost the opposite in that it’s the product and not the process which I’m coveting. It’s the Sunday Market shawl (pattern link here) and it’s a straight stockinette stitch (knit one row and purl the next row) until the end when you tear out some stitches and viola! something special shows up. So it’s doesn’t need much mindfulness and is easy. But the landmark that this shawl helped me achieve is this–I knitted standing up on Bart! I gave up my seat for a family and while there were plenty of seats, I just stood near the doors and knitted standing up. Something new for me!

Entry filed under: fiber arts, knit, knit tips. Tags: , , , , , .

natural curiosities collage sunday market shawl completed!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. kv  |  September 2, 2008 at 2:23 am

    knitting standing up–now that’s dedication. pretty projects!

    Reply
  • 2. KnitPurlGurl  |  September 3, 2008 at 6:53 am

    Beautiful scarf!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Flickr Photos

news I'm reading

Top Clicks

  • None

