Gridlocked no more

August 24, 2008 at 8:45 pm Leave a comment


carol’s gridlocked

Originally uploaded by Jurassic2008

This is the Gridlocked project I completed in Lisa Kaus’ Gridlocked workshop at the 2008 ZNE Convenzione I blogged about this morning.

Rare I finish a project! But Lisa was very good at gently prompting us and insisting we could finish in 7 hours. She really moved the entire class along and all of her advice was right on about my piece. Of course I didn’t really understand what she was trying to say and then by the time I really understood, I ran out of time. I like the finished project but she was right, some of the grids really could have used a little more depth and texture. It’s waxed now so it’s not easy to fix.

But despite the lapses, I’m glad Lisa had us finish yesterday because there is a strong sense of accomplishment.

Other things I learned:
*I love the Golden fluid acrylics and the colors Lisa had for us to use.
*How to use graphite pencil to outline the grids.
*Smudging graphic pencils and water-soluble oil pastel crayons can create depth.
*Composition consists of interspersing interesting and resting places for the viewer.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , .

Artistic stimulation at ZNE convention First mail art signup

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Flickr Photos

news I'm reading

Top Clicks

  • None