Kiva microloans

August 7, 2008 at 7:33 pm Leave a comment

I’ve become more active posting on Ravelry–the knitting/crocheting on-line community website–and I found a group dedicated to knitters/crocheters who support Kiva. Kiva is all about making microloans (around $25) to people all over the world. These small loans can be added up to buy farm equipment, buildings, seeds, or other items to build economic security for families in developing countries. It is incredibly rewarding and I’ve been making loans for quite sometime now and am now able to reloan money which has already been repaid.

But what makes this post fit into this blog is realizing that there are some (not many but some) requests for loans come from craftspeople including knitters and weavers! I typically try to find and fun artists and medical causes. I’m sometimes unsure about agricultural loans because there are many unsustainable agricultural practices out there–and my ambivalence comes becomes I want to support individuals trying to make a living, but sometimes making a living comes at a price for wildlife and natural habitats. So I understand, but I don’t necessarily want to support it with my own loans.

But check it out! The microloans are just as rewarding as finishing a knitting project!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

Calamity altered book pages calamity altered book swap page 1 (1)

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Flickr Photos

news I'm reading

Top Clicks

  • None

