So called scarf thoughts

January 6, 2008 at 12:52 pm 2 comments

I can see why this is so popular–once you get into the groove, I’m sure this produces the endorphins in one’s brain to produce a zen-like state! I think the continental style of knitting (where the left hand carries the yarn) makes this pattern pretty fast on the right side where you are doing a YO before you slip off the slipped stitch. The purl-side is not so fast no matter what!

Modification made: To keep the edging clean, I’ve been slipping (not knitting) the first stitch on the RS row.

I think the Caron Simply Soft is really very soft and I haven’t had too many problems with the yarn. But I can see that this yarn does get quite fuzzy and is not the top quality — but of course it’s a fraction of the price of the nice LYS yarns! Makes me regret a little putting in so much effort into this scarf with cheap yarn — but this won’t be my last SCS!

Entry filed under: knit, knit tips.

my so called scarf update Craft therapy

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. greetingarts  |  January 6, 2008 at 2:42 pm

    It’s taken me years and years to realize it’s not worth putting so much time and effort into a project using cheap-o stuff. I’ve finally designated my lesser quality yarns for charity work, and now I’m becoming a yarn snob. Although I really do still like Lion Brand, and find it very hard to pass up a bargain…

    Reply
  • 2. jurassic  |  January 6, 2008 at 7:55 pm

    I’m going to find a place to give away my yarn! Thanks for the empathy…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Flickr Photos

Daily sf sunset photo 2 1/7

Daily sunset photo



More Photos

news I'm reading

Top Clicks

  • None

