Craft therapy

January 6, 2008 at 1:49 pm Leave a comment

For the past year, I’ve known that pursuing creative efforts can help me:

-take my mind off of work (which I love but can be too much)
-be more spontaneous
-be less perfectionist
-be more focused on “process” rather than “product”

But today, I’ve realized that there are a few more skills which I’m honing as well. While planning out my altered book pages, I’ve decided on a “tunnel page” which is the featured technique in the Yahoo altered books group. What I realized is that it takes a lot of step-by-step planning where you have to think in advance of the general effect, take a look at the tools I have on hand, and then implement it layer by layer. I made a lot of progress on getting the overlay measured and cut–these are the precision steps that I can handle. But now it comes to the look itself, the layers, the feel and overall layout and I almost rushed it too quickly. Hence this post.

I’m going to slow down a little, survey my papers and embellishments, and plan a little bit more before I do anything else. Slowing things down is the main lesson for today!

Entry filed under: altered book.

So called scarf thoughts Tempted…

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Flickr Photos

Daily sf sunset photo 2 1/7

Daily sunset photo



More Photos

news I'm reading

Top Clicks

  • None

