Knitting needle tips

January 5, 2008 at 3:28 pm Leave a comment

Being a relatively unsophisticated knitter, I’m still trying out plastic, bamboo, and metal needles as well as both circular and straight ones. I like the plastic ones actually because they often have a sharp tip, are light, and not too slippery. But the bamboo ones feel really nice and warm and the metal ones have that cool (in both temperature and attitude) feel and the clicking is very encouraging!

My sister gave me a set of plastic straight needles from an estate sale which has served me well. But lately, I find that they are a little long and the ends tend to bump into armrests and such, forcing me into a strange posture–not good.

So I jumped on the circular needle bandwagon and thought to knit everything on circulars, even if not knitted in the round. But I found something out:

TIP: For drop stitch patterns, use straight needles! Because circular needles have a huge change in diameter, the YO’s get tightened up and it’s hard to move them on and off the connective wire to the needle section.

I frogged the start of a ribbon scarf (Lion Brand Incredible Accent on Black) because I got tired of trying to move my stitches onto the working part of the circular needles. I found myself a pair of short, plastic straight needles and that will work much better.

Entry filed under: knit, knit tips. Tags: , , .

Peer pressure in knitting patterns! my so called scarf update

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Flickr Photos

news I'm reading

Top Clicks

  • None

