Pop Art altered book

December 28, 2007 at 2:16 am Leave a comment

Pop Art cover altered book

This was done for my November altered book swap at Nova Studios and Diane Brouchard. This is her book in fact and it was a lot of fun.

I did a David Hockney-inspired pool spread. I really like Hockney but discovered that although many believe he was one of the originaly British pop artists, he himself doesn’t really consider himself one; I’m not sure I do either! But since I like his work, I’m glad I could play with it.

Hockney Pop Art altered book

My second spread was based more on the original book–there was something about playing with color and Seurat’s dots. When I think of color and pop artists, fortunately or unfortunately, it still inspires Andy Warhol. So I tried to choose some Warhols that were a little less common–like the Sitting Bull and Flowers–and exposed some of the original text.
Warhol Pop Art altered book

Entry filed under: altered book.

Green linen stitch scarf Wine altered book

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Flickr Photos

news I'm reading

Top Clicks

  • None

